How to stay Motivated and Uplifted to get things done!

Hello Festive Friends,

success1Hope you are all doing amazing and FULL of joy, motivation and happiness.

Today, I have decided to cover the topic of motivation and on how to feel uplifted. Especially NOW, because we are going through a transition. The transition of ‘weather change’.

If you live in the UK you are probably noticing that the weather is getting colder ESPECIALLY TODAY, and we are needing to bring out those winter coats and jackets again.  When I was preparing to go out, I looked through my shoes and realised that most of my shoes are Summer shoes or shoes for Pageants haha, I ended up wearing one of my glamourous pageant shoes which was somehow over the top (but it went with my outfit and I got a few compliments so there goes) I also noticed that I have many winter boots and winters shoes (which are not really appropriate for our transition from summer to autumn) so I realised that it is that time again to go shopping. Time for change, time for adaptation. I couldn’t help but wonder if this change of weather would affect everyone. We have enjoyed some sunny days in England haven’t we? (the good old heat wave) we were lucky weren’t we? We had some sunshine this year! Or perhaps you live abroad and you get good weather all the time. Nevertheless, I am sure that your weather is changing too from Winter to Summer or from Summer to Autumn so here are some tips on how to stay uplifted and avoid the WINTER BLUES.

1) Accept the fact that change is inevitable:
Nothing lasts for ever so just enjoy the fact that you had a good summer (or a good winter, depending on where you live) and happily accept that it is time to move on. Don’t spend too much of your time being sorrowful over this new weather that is about to come. Determine to accept that change has to happen and that yes one door may have closed in your life, the holiday season is now over and the kids are now going back to school, but also look on the bright side, a new door is opening so look ahead and embrace change with a positive mental attitude. Good things are coming your way too such as meeting new amazing people, Christmas is not too long away, new job, new ideas, new career change, more money…good things can and will happen to you! Be hopeful.

2) Drink plenty of water:
When the weather changes we tend to drink less (again this will depend on where you live, if you live in Nigeria you probably drink more haha as it is so hot there) if you live in colder parts of the world such as UK you probably will begin  to drink less, this is due to the fact that the weather is getting colder; so naturally we will get less thirsty.

But, this does not mean that our bodies need less water, we are still made out of approximately 60% of water according to the ‘USGS Water Science School’. So we must drink at least 6-8 cups of water a day! The USGS discuss the vital benefits of water in a recent blog post, see a quote here:

“Water serves a number of essential functions to keep us all going:

  • A vital nutrient to the life of every cell, acts first as a building material.
  • It regulates our internal body temperature by sweating and respiration
  • The carbohydrates and proteins that our bodies use as food are metabolized and transported by water in the bloodstream;
  • It assists in flushing waste mainly through urination acts as a shock absorber for brain, spinal cord, and fetus forms saliva lubricates joint”

You can read more here: ‘The Water in you’ (Perlman, 2013)

So no matter how cold you feel (or hot) make sure you drink plenty of water to stay fully hydrated and uplifted. This will help you feel motivated and on top of things to get things done and to work effectively rather than feeling lethargic and down.

0b8258e79d9cd634_TummyToners.xlarger3) Exercise: 
One of the most important things that you can do to make you feel uplifted and motivated is to exercise at least 3-5 times a week for 30 minutes – 1hour! Now I am no doctor so please seek medical advice before you embark on any exercise programme but if we go by what research tells us we all know that we need to exercise on a daily/weekly basis. Some of us do this and some of us are NOT doing this. Or we do it but not as often as we should.

I have days where I work on the computer and only exercise once in a week which doesn’t do me any good. But then I have weeks where I work out at least 3-5 times a week and this has been life changing, invigorating and has made me feel very motivated to get things done effectively. Exercise has become a major part of my life and it also helped me to loose a bit of weight.

My favourite ways to work out are:
– attending Zumba Classes
– Going to the Gym
– Body Conditioning classes
– Aerobic work outs at home with weights, medicine ball, a skipping rope and a mat
10 Minute Fitness Solutions DVD
– Playing Badminton
Think of some ways that you can start implementing workouts into your lifestyle starting from this week! what are your favourite ways to work out? Do more of them.

4) Create a to do list and get tasks checked off daily:
There is nothing better than setting goals and achieving them. It is so cool to create tasks on your to do list and check them off one by one. This can be very motivating and success then becomes a repetitive cycle, as you want to do more and more! So every evening before you go to bed be sure to plan the following day. On your list have at least 5-6 things that you will like to achieve and get the most important tasks done first and work your way through the list. You can always add whatever you don’t manage to complete into tomorrows list but don’t give up! Do this every day/week! Get a box and put all of your completed lists into the box to remind yourself of your successes when you feel a bit low.

5) Use Positive Affirmations: 
Positive affirmations can be so uplifting and encouraging. I used to use them a lot in the past and it really helped me to become more enthusiastic, uplifted, bright and happier. It actually changed my life and I thank God for this as this has been one of my secrets to my success.

However, what happens is many of us tend to stop using positive affirmations after a while, we start and stop or we confess out loud of positive affirmations just now and then rather than every day and evening (morning and night).

We have to stay on top of saying ‘good things over our lives as we can become negative as this is our natural ability, it is so easy to complain but much harder to say good things, unless you train yourself.

If you suffer from bad dreams, you MUST make positive affirmations, if you suffer from anxiety or worry you MUST make positive affirmations, if you lack hope, faith or if you have a negative way of seeing life then  YOU NEED TO MAKE POSITIVE AFFIRMATIONS. It will change your mind, perception and give you a more positive, outlook in life which will also lead to motivation and getting things done.

Don’t wait until you feel depressed before you start doing this, do it today. Start today not tomorrow! Write down at least 10 good things in the morning and in the night that you can confess over your life, family, business etc Better yet you can type it out and print it out and put it under your pillow and bring them out morning and night and whenever you need it.

Joyce Meyer, International Preacher, once said that ‘You have to talk to yourself enough so that the devil doesn’t get a word in edge way’; what does this mean? It means that when the enemy paints you a bad picture of your life, you MUST fight back by saying GOOD THINGS over your life until one day those bad thoughts stop coming back to haunt you. If you hear ‘You will never be a successful business woman, your business will never make any money’ you need to say ‘I am a successful business woman, I make thousands of pounds/dollars every month without fail’.

Your list of positive affirmations can look something like this:
‘I am beautiful and special’
‘I love myself’
‘I am precious and valuable’
‘God loves me so much and I receive his love today’
‘God has a good plan for my life and I will see it fulfilled and accomplished in my life’
‘I am highly motivated, uplifted and happy’
‘I am blessed and empowered to succeed’
‘Today is my day for favour’
‘Today is my day for change’
‘I have a new car, I drive the amazing car of my dreams’
‘I exercise every week 3-5 times a week without fail’
‘I have all the money, resources and motivation I need to work effectively in my business’

What else can you add to this list?

Make sure you sign up to my NEW ‘Festive Success Newsletter’ on mu QueenChioma website I will be sending out some ‘Positive Affirmations’ to help you on your journey of SUCCESS.

Visit my website and sign up on my home page today:
http://www.queenchiomaworld.co.uk

You can also work with me, I offer coaching, mentoring and support on how you can achieve your goals, dreams and aspirations:
http://www.queenchiomaworld.co.uk/#/success-coach/4575208539

Until next time! have a great, wonderful and blessed evening….along with a super motivated and uplifting day!
visit my facebook, twitter and let me know if you have implemented any of these challenges and how this blog post has helped.

I look forward to hearing from you shortly.

Queen Chioma Nworgu MA, BA (hons)
Motivational Speaker, Success Coach, Singer
Follow me on Twitter @queenchioma
Like my page on Facebook 
Click here to see my Professional Profile

Leave a Reply

